“Hemp Can Save The Planet!”

– Jack Herer

Hemp is the most versatile plant on earth.
It can be used for food, medicine, biofuel, compostable plastics, building materials and more.
It is time for the full legalization of industrial hemp at the federal level.

Ask a Question / Submit a Article / For Hire
options
 

Idaho Marijuana Laws & Penalties
 
Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine  

Possession

Personal Use

3 oz or less Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000
3 oz - less than 1 lb Felony 5 years $ 10,000

With intent to distribute

1 - less than 5 lbs or 25 - less than 50 plants Felony 1 year* $ 50,000
5 - less than 25 lbs or 50 - less than 100 plants Felony 3 years* $ 50,000
25 lbs or more or 100 plants or more Felony 5 years* $ 50,000
Where a person under the age of 18 is present Felony 5 years $ 5,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Possession of 1 lb or more, or 25 or more plants is considered trafficking.

Sale or Delivery

1 - less than 5 lbs or 25 - less than 50 plants Felony 1 year* $ 50,000
5 - less than 25 lbs or 50 - less than 100 plants Felony 3 years* $ 50,000
25 lbs or more or 100 plants or more Felony 5 years* $ 50,000
Where a person under the age of 18 is present Felony 5 years $ 50,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Cultivation

1 - less than 5 lbs or 25 - less than 50 plants Felony 1 year* $ 50,000
5 - less than 25 lbs or 50 - less than 100 plants Felony 3 years* $ 50,000
25 lbs or more or 100 plants or more Felony 5 years* $ 50,000
Where a person under the age of 18 is present Felony 5 years $ 50,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Possession of 1 lb or more, or 25 or more plants is considered trafficking.

Hash & Concentrates

Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Paraphernalia

Use or possession of paraphernalia Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000
Manufacture or sale of paraphernalia Felony 9 years $ 30,000

Forfeiture

Vehicles and other property may be seized.

Miscellaneous

Use or intoxication in public Misdemeanor 6 months $ 1,000
Presence at location where marijuana is cultivated or stored Misdemeanor 3 months $ 300
Maintaining a structure used for selling or storing marijuana Misdemeanor 1 year $ 25,000
Possession of marijuana and under the age of 18 will result in driver's license revocation for a period of not more than 1 year.

Penalty Details

Marijuana is a Schedule I hallucinogenic substance under the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act. See Possession for Personal Use Possession of 3 ounces or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $1,000. If the quantity possessed is more than 3 ounces but less than 1 pound, it is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000. See
  • Idaho Code Ann. §§ 37-2732(c)(3), (e) Web Search
Possession with Intent to Distribute Possession with intent to distribute up to 1 pound or up to 24 plants of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $15,000. Possession of 1 pound or more, or 25 or more plants, is considered trafficking in marijuana, a felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and a fine up to $50,000. If the amount possessed was 1 pound or more but less than 5 pounds, or 25 plants or more but less than 50 plants, the offender receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 1 year imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $5,000. Possession of 5 pounds or more but less than 25 pounds, or 50 plants or more but less than 100 plants, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 3 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $10,000. Possession of 25 pounds or more, or 100 plants or more, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 5 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $15,000. The maximum number of years of imprisonment for trafficking shall be 15 years and the maximum fine shall be $50,000. Suspension and deferral are not available for trafficking in marijuana offenses, and parole may not be granted until the minimum sentences are completed. A second offense of trafficking in marijuana will receive a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment that is double that authorized for the offense. See
  • Idaho Code Ann. § 37-2732(a)(1)(B) Web Search
  • Idaho Code Ann. §§ 37-2732B(a)(1), (7)-(8) Web Search
A conviction for possession with intent to deliver is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 3 years to life imprisonment if it is within 10 years of a conviction in any U.S. territory for an offense related to dealing, selling, or trafficking controlled substances that was punishable by imprisonment of more than 1 year. See Possession with intent to distribute marijuana on premises where a person under the age of 18 is present is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $5,000. See Sale/Delivery Delivery of up to 1 pound or up to 24 plants of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $15,000. Delivery or import into Idaho of 1 pound, or more or 25 plants or more, is considered trafficking in marijuana, a felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and a fine up to $50,000. If the amount delivered or imported was 1 pound or more but less than 5 pounds, or 25 plants or more but less than 50 plants, the offender receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 1 year imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $5,000. Delivery or import into Idaho of 5 pounds or more but less than 25 pounds, or 50 plants or more but less than 100 plants, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 3 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $10,000. Delivery or import into Idaho of 25 pounds or more, or 100 plants or more, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 5 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $15,000. The maximum number of years of imprisonment for trafficking shall be 15 years and the maximum fine shall be $50,000. Suspension and deferral are not available for trafficking in marijuana offenses, and parole may not be granted until the minimum sentences are completed. A second offense of trafficking in marijuana will receive a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment that is double that authorized for the offense. See
  • Idaho Code Ann. § 37-2732(a)(1)(B) Web Search
  • Idaho Code Ann. §§ 37-2732B(a)(1), (7)-(8) Web Search
A conviction for delivery is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 3 years to life imprisonment if it is within 10 years of a conviction in any U.S. territory for an offense related to dealing, selling, or trafficking controlled substances that was punishable by imprisonment of more than 1 year. See Delivery by a person aged 18 or older to a person aged 18 years or younger who is at least 3 years their junior is punishable by a term of imprisonment that is twice that authorized for delivery. See Delivery on premises where a person under the age of 18 is present is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $5,000. See Cultivation Cultivation of up to 1 pound or up to 24 plants of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $15,000. Cultivation of 1 pound or more, or 25 plants or more, is considered trafficking in marijuana, a felony punishable by up to 15 years imprisonment and a fine up to $50,000. If the amount cultivated was 1 pound or more but less than 5 pounds, or 25 plants or more but less than 50 plants, the offender receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 1 year imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $5,000. Cultivation of 5 pounds or more but less than 25 pounds, or 50 plants or more but less than 100 plants, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 3 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $10,000. Cultivation of 25 pounds or more, or 100 plants or more, of marijuana receives a mandatory minimum fixed term of 5 years imprisonment and a mandatory fine of at least $15,000. The maximum number of years of imprisonment for trafficking shall be 15 years and the maximum fine shall be $50,000. Suspension and deferral are not available for trafficking in marijuana offenses, and parole may not be granted until the minimum sentences are completed. A second offense of trafficking in marijuana will receive a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment that is double that authorized for the offense. See
  • Idaho Code Ann. § 37-2732(a)(B) Web Search
  • Idaho Code Ann. §§ 37-2732B(a)(1), (7)-(8) Web Search
A conviction for cultivation is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 3 years to life imprisonment if it is within 10 years of a conviction in any U.S. territory for an offense related to dealing, selling, or trafficking controlled substances that was punishable by imprisonment of more than 1 year. See Cultivation on premises where a person under the age of 18 is present is a felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $5,000. See Hash & Concentrates Hashish is classified as a Schedule I drug in Idaho. The Definitions section of the statute includes Hashish and Marijuana Concentrates when it defines Marijuana as the plant and every derivative preparation of it. The Penalties section reinforces this interpretation by explicitly including, as Marijuana, any extract or preparation of cannabis which contains tetrahydrocannabinol. The statute never explicitly refers to Hashish or Marijuana Concentrates as being separate from Marijuana. Therefore, the penalties for hashish and THC concentrates should be the same as for marijuana. Please see the above marijuana section for further information. See Paraphernalia Use or possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $1,000. See Manufacture or sale of drug paraphernalia is a felony punishable by up to 9 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $30,000. See Sentencing For violations of possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana, all offenders are required to undergo a substance abuse evaluation. This requirement may be waived if the violation is the offenders first, the charge is for simple possession, and the court finds no reason to believe that the offender is in need of treatment. This evaluation will be used in determining the sentence of the offender, which may include mandatory treatment. See Judgment may be withheld if the offender has no prior felony convictions, convictions for driving under the influence, or convictions for possession, sale, or cultivation of a controlled substance, the offender has been cooperative with law enforcement efforts for drug-related crime, and the court believes that they will complete the terms of probation. When a person pleads guilty or is found guilty of possession, sale, or cultivation, if they are granted a probationary period, it will include a minimum of 100 hours of community service. See Second Offense A second or subsequent offense is subject to twice the term of imprisonment and twice the fine authorized for the offense. An offense for this provision is any conviction under the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act or under a federal statute or statute of another state relating to controlled substances. See Forfeiture Criminal Anyone who pleads guilty to or is convicted of an offense under the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act which is punishable by more than 1 year imprisonment must forfeit certain property to the state of Idaho. This includes any property constituting or derived from profits of the violation and any property used in or used to facilitate the violation. See Civil Vehicles and other property may be seized for violations of the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act. Proceedings must commence within 30 days after the seizure. For certain properties, a notice of forfeiture must be provided to all those with an interest in it. Interested partied have 20 days to file an answer from the time that the notice is mailed or published. See Miscellaneous Use or intoxication in public Using or being under the influence of marijuana on public property or on private property open to the public is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and/or a fine up to $1,000. The court may assess an additional cost of up to $200 for reimbursement to the arresting or prosecuting authority. A public use or intoxication offense that occurs within 5 years of 2 or more separate public use or intoxication convictions is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 120 days imprisonment to a maximum of 1 year if the offender refuses to complete treatment. See Presence at location where marijuana is cultivated or stored Presence at or on the premises where marijuana is cultivated or held for distribution, transportation, delivery, or use is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and/or a fine up to $300. See Knowingly maintaining a structure used for drug offenses It is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $25,000 to maintain a structure (including vehicles and houses) that the owner knows is used for selling, storing, or using marijuana. See
  • Idaho Code Ann. §§ 37-2733(a)(5), (b) Web Search
Fees for investigation Upon a felony or misdemeanor conviction of the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act, the offender may be ordered to pay for the costs of investigating their offense incurred by law enforcement. See Drug hotline fee Any violation of the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act results in a fee of $10, which is deposited in the drug and driving under the influence enforcement donation fund. See Driver's license revocation Any person who pleads guilty or is found guilty of possessing of marijuana and is under 18 shall have their license revoked for a period of not more than 1 year. See
Drugged Driving This state has a per se drugged driving law enacted. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug or drug metabolite (i.e., compounds produced from chemical changes of a drug in the body, but not necessarily psychoactive themselves) present in their bodily fluids above a specific, state-imposed threshold. Further information about cannabinoids and their impact on psychomotor performance is available here. Additional information regarding cannabinoids and proposed per se limits is available here. Mandatory Minimum Sentence When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence, the judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. The judge has no power to sentence the defendant to less time than the mandatory minimum. A prisoner serving an MMS for a federal offense and for most state offenses will not be eligible for parole. Even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to "life MMS" must serve a life sentence with no chance of parole. Tax Stamps This state has a marijuana tax stamp law enacted. This law mandates that those who possess marijuana are legally required to purchase and affix state-issued stamps onto his or her contraband. Failure to do so may result in a fine and/or criminal sanction. For more information, see NORML's report Marijuana Tax Stamp Laws And Penalties.

 

 


About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2017 History of Hemp